3 Month Update

Standard

3 months ago, my Naturopathic Doctor recommended a specific way of eating. It included plenty of protein, no starchy or sugary veggies or fruits, limited dairy, very limited grains, and lots of greens.

It was a really, really hard thing for me to adjust to.

Over the last three months, I have slipped up, had a few cheat days, and thrown out the results of several experimental recipes.

I have cussed, thrown things in my kitchen, and grumbled as I grocery shopped.

I have questioned his advice, done my own research, and ultimately come right back to what he suggested.

I have also started to feel better.

I go back this week to have my labs done again and see how my progress is, but I am hopeful that it will be positive.

You know what I haven’t seen, despite all the restriction? Significant weight loss.

This upset me at first. The way I am eating (which is basically a cross between the GAPS and Paleo guidelines) usually results in weight loss. I sort of expected to see some. Not because I was desperate for it, but because it seemed like a logical response to my new way of life.

When that didn’t happen, I started to wonder why I was doing this.

Then I remembered that I wasn’t doing this to lose weight. I was doing this for my internal health. Sometimes society creeps into my head and tries to rearrange my priorities.  I have to remind myself that I am smarter than that.

I firmly believe that when we eat according to our body’s needs, whether they be nutritional, metabolic or otherwise, the body will respond accordingly. This is why “diets” don’t work. Everyone’s body is different with complex needs, deficiencies, weaknesses and strengths. Forcing our bodies into a desired outcome, in regards to weight, is not only unhealthy but foolish.

On the other hand, treating our body with respect and understanding what it is asking for is the key to HEALTH. You must get to the root of the issue (whatever it may be) for optimum HEALTH. Notice I am not saying its “the key to WEIGHT LOSS”…”for optimum WEIGHT LOSS”. Health and weight loss are NOT the same. Since I removed most grains and sugars from my diet, I have noticed a significant change in my body. I don’t think I have lost more than five pounds or so, but the actual shape of my body is changing. A very odd thing to see, indeed.

Most importantly, however, I *feel* different. I have more energy. My moods are lighter. I feel stronger and more capable.

I also had a revelation. It wasn’t until I loved myself enough to truly *care* for my body and my health that I was able to make changes. I still don’t know if more physical change will come from this, but that’s not the point. I love me enough to seek wellness. You really do have to love yourself as you are before you can embrace your worth. The value you must see in order to approach a healthy lifestyle with open arms.

loveyourobdy

You really have to love your body, as-is. You have to. If you don’t, and change does not come as you hope, you will lose your motivation. Motivation that wasn’t properly placed to begin with. Motivation that put outward appearance over internal health.

You know, like I did.

Please note that I am not saying everyone should adopt my diet. There is no such thing as a one-size-fits-all dietary lifestyle. To simply take what I am saying as an endorsement for this way of life is completely missing the point. Find your path to wellness, whatever that may be. Maybe its veganism. Or juicing. Or simply switching to a less processed way of eating. Maybe you just need to eat more vegetables and stop drinking soda.

Whatever it may be, make it happen. Not to lose weight, but to gain health. Real, genuine, long-lasting health. HEALTH because you’re worth it. HEALTH because no one wants to be sick.

HEALTH because it is an option for you. An option that is far superior to the alternative.

Leave a Reply

