Hey Good Lookin’ 6/7/13

Standard

Gluten free chicken fried “steak” anyone?

Yeah, I’m avoiding grains right now, but when the kids asked for this for dinner, I didn’t have the will power heart to say no. 😉

I didn’t have any cube steak (which is what you make chicken fried steak with btw) but I did have some good quality ground beef in the fridge.

My youngest, who just turned 9, has been in the kitchen with me since the day she came home from the hospital. As a result, she can pretty much cook anything that I can. It’s kind of amazing…and all kinds of fantastic when I dont feel like cooking.  Once she heard the “ok” to her request for battered and fried yumminess, She was off and running.

Here’s what she did:

*Little miss took 1.5 pounds of grassfed ground beef, seasoned it with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and mixed it all up really well.

*She then put two beaten eggs into a bowl, and about 1.5 cups of Trader Joe’s gluten free flour in another. She seasoned the flour with the salt, pepper and garlic also.

*Next up, she formed the meat into patties that were about 2 inches across and 1 inch thick.

pretty proud of herself.

pretty proud of herself.

 

*She then began to batter the patties. Flour, Egg, Flour. That’s the secret right there, folks. If you can remember “salt, pepper, garlic” and “flour, egg, flour”, then you too can cook like my 9 year old. 😛

*Once battered, I fried them. I melted a bunch of refined coconut oil (so it doesn’t taste like coconut) in a dutch oven type pot (about an inch deep) and fried them for about 4 minutes on each side.

While they were frying, I got to work on our side dish. Bacon broccoli. Yeah. I said that.

I always strain and save the fat from my bacon. I buy uncured, organic, pasture raised bacon, and I am not letting any bit of it go to waste!

Pretty simple:

*Cut one head of broccoli into florettes.

*Add 1 TBSP of rendered bacon fat to pan.

*Add broccoli

*Sprinkle with sea salt

*Cook until desired tenderness is achieved. 🙂 I ended up adding about 1/4 cup of water to the pan and covering it briefly to help steam them a bit.

bacon trees.

bacon trees.

 

Gluten Free? Yes. Grain free? No. I only had two little patties and filled the rest of my plate with broccoli though, so I’m counting it as a success. 🙂

Love those crispy broccoli bits!

Love those crispy broccoli bits!

 

Improv at its finest. Ground beef into chicken fried steak? Check! Running out of coconut oil and using bacon fat instead? Check! Not having a decent camera and posting in lousy cell phone pics again? You betcha.

Hope you all have a great weekend. Eat something yummy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

