Hey Good Lookin’…STIR FRY!

Standard

Ever since I went grain-free about a month ago, the only thing I have craved is rice. I just.want.rice… especially in the form of a rice bowl.

Last night I made a stir-fry with “rice” made from cauliflower.

It didn’t taste like rice. It tasted like cauliflower in a shape that vaguely resembled rice, but the cruciferous flavor mixed with the asian flair made it taste pretty delicious.

I used this stir-fry recipe from Divine Health From the Inside Out. I didn’t have pork (and it is on our “avoid” list anyway) so I used chicken breasts. It was so super yummy, but very sour. Like, vinegar sour. I am not complaining, mind you…just a heads up. I might reduce the rice wine vinegar next time, if I even add it at all. I think soaking the chicken in raw apple cider vinegar (Bragg’s of course!) gave it plenty of tang for *my* taste buds, but you may really love it as is. 🙂 She gives many variations in the recipe for the sauce. I used Bragg’s liquid aminos, coconut sugar, rice wine vinegar, and unfortunately had to use powdered ginger because I didn’t have any ginger root on hand. Also, I used fresh serranos instead of chili flakes just because I love their flavor in stir-fries.

stirfry

I used THIS “rice” recipe from nomnompaleo.com

When combined, it was so delicious. I didn’t enjoy the rice on it’s own, but when you mixed the two together, the cauliflower flavor blended in w/the broccoli flavor and it was a great cure for my asian food craving. 🙂

I am enjoying the challenge that avoiding grains presents me. Hopefully I will enjoy some health benefits too. I cannot see how I wouldn’t…I can’t believe all the veggies I am eating these days!

Eating right (whatever that means to you) doesn’t have to mean complete deprivation. It just means you have to learn to be smarter about what goes into your body.

Where there is a will, there is a way.

Even a way to eat rice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

