Five Easy Steps…

Standard

It is so hard to know what is good anymore, isn’t it? What one person says is a miracle food, another says you should avoid at all costs. What one declares necessary, another deems contraband. Every trainer has an opinion on what exercises are the best. I find it all very frustrating and tiresome. I do not think that wellness is a one-size-fits-all kind of thing, but I do think that there are some things that everyone can benefit from (barring allergies, etc.)

When trying to make healthy changes and choices, there are a few things that can be easily implemented, and can make a HUGE impact on your health and wellness. Here are my top five steps to take towards a healthier and happier YOU.

1.) Eat more veggies. Everyone has said it for years, I know. There is a reason for that. Kale chips are a great way to get leafy greens in. Skip the (especially gmo) corn. It doesn’t count…neither do potatoes.

2.) Just say “no” to margarine and other “healthy” oils/butter alternatives. This means vegetable, corn, and canola oils. This stuff is terrible, ya’ll. *Terrible!* Real butter is not the demon it has been made out to be, and the hydrogenated “heart healthy” oils are in fact the opposite of beneficial to your ticker. That stuff is killing us. Do your research. Instead, get yourself some good quality coconut oil (nutiva is my fave and is cheap and costco!), use olive oil when you wont be heating it too high, and really, butter (especially if grassfed) is not the enemy.

3.) If its white, it ain’t right. White flour, white sugar…you get the idea. As my naturopath says, “Life wouldn’t be much fun without a little bit of white flour.” But don’t make a habit of it. Stick to whole grains if you choose to partake. Here lately, I haven’t eaten *any* flour (and very, very few grains and legumes) and I don’t miss it as much as I thought I would. The whole idea is to eat food that is as close to its original state as possible. Trust me, white flour doesn’t come out of the ground like that. đŸ˜‰

4.) Get up and move. Even if I don’t do cardio for a day, I do my yoga in the morning. I am always glad that I did. I’m not looking to have buns of steel at this point, gang. I am just trying to get oxygen to my cells. Your body will thank you.

5.) Listen to your body. It will tell you what it needs. Eat when you are hungry. Stop when you are full. Listen closely and feed it what it asks for. It WILL tell you. Promise. You just have to be willing to listen.

It’s a journey guys. Always will be. What works for some may not work for you, so try on what interests you and listen to how your body responds. You are beautiful and worthy of respect…give yourself what you deserve!

Leave a Reply

