Hey Good Lookin’! 5/31

Standard

So my naturopath has me on a few (read: tons of ) dietary restrictions right now until we figure out what is behind a slight metabolic issue I am having.  It’s not anything dramatic, but I don’t want it to become anything dramatic, so I abide by the rules and seek an answer.

The restrictions mean that I cannot have grains. At all. Very limited dairy. Plenty of protein. The hubs has a few extra restrictions for his issues, so dinners are very, very challenging for me to come up with. We have found that most GAPS diet recipes fit our needs. Sometimes a Paleo recipe works, but we are restricted on starchy veggies, so many paleo recipes are off limits to us. It has been a real struggle to find creative ways to make food taste good again.

It is probably why I didn’t blog for a bit. I didn’t have anything nice to say, and we all know what Mama said about that.

Now that I am starting to figure this thing out, I thought I would share what’s cookin’ in my kitchen these days. Every day looks much like the day before it, and so far I’m not tired of much (except meat and eggs…omg…) and I am adjusting nicely (read: reluctantly.)

I start my day with a Plantfusion protein shake. I am so incredibly tired of eggs, which is sad because I love eggs. I like the chocolate powder. I also like that it is soy, dairy, and gluten free. No weird garbage in it and all the protein is plant based.

Drink up!

Drink up!

It really does hold me over for quite a while, and gives me a good boost in the morning. I have only had one cup of coffee in the last 6 weeks, and I’m still upright. That says it all in my opinion.

After my shake (usually between 6 and 7am) I piddle around, and then do yoga.

About 10am, I’m starting to get really hungry again. It is at this time that I make kale chips.  If you haven’t made kale chips, they are super easy to make, and a much easier way to get kale into your body. I do not like the taste or texture of raw kale, unfortunately, but I will literally sit and eat an entire bundle of kale in chip form. No joke, I have 8 bundles of kale in my fridge right now and they wont make it to Wednesday.

Five easy steps...

Five easy steps…

Step 1: Gather your supplies. Olive oil (or whatever oil you like…just no canola or other nasty omega 6 oils.), sea salt, garlic powder, a bundle of kale, and a salad spinner, or some other way to dry it after you wash it, like, I dunno…a towel?

Step 2: Tear the kale of the stalks into 2-3 inch pieces. Rinse, rinse rinse, then spin or towel dry completely. If its still wet, they will steam and not turn into chips.

Step 3: Place dried kale into a bowl. In separate bowl, mix 2-3 tbsp of olive oil, a pinch of salt, and a dash of garlic powder and mix. Drizzle over kale. Toss with your hands until all the leaves are coated.

Step 4: Spread leaves onto a cookie sheet as evenly as possible. Bake at 350* for about 15-20 minutes until edges are lightly browned and leaves are crisp.

Step 5: Eat them…and have dental floss handy.

I looooove me some kale chips.

About 1pm, my kale chips have worn off and I am ready to eat a serious meal. Or drink one, like I did yesterday. Usually I have a  raw kefir smoothie (Raw milk kefir, frozen strawberries, unsweetened coconut milk, coconut oil) or a couple scrambled eggs w/homemade salsa. We all know how I feel about eggs right now.

at least its not eggs.

at least its not eggs.

Kids decided halfway through my smoothie making that they all wanted one, hence the extra ingredients at the top of the blender.  I ended up having a mesculin greens salad w/four little pieces of leftover chicken and a homemade vinaigrette with it. I used Bragg’s apple cider vinegar ($3.99 at Sprouts this week!) and the same awesome organic olive oil I use on the kale chips. 3.99 at grocery outlet…so stoked about that.

Dinner was…get ready for this…eggs. Kids had ground beef patties that my 9 yr old made w/shredded zucchini and herbs inside.  I just couldn’t do meat. The teensy bit of chicken in my salad was almost too much for me. Eggs were the lesser of two evils, it turns out. I roasted a small spaghetti squash, shredded out the “spaghetti” and made THESE “faux-tatoes” with my two fried eggs. They did not fool me, but at least I ate my veggies.

I may not be thrilled with everything I’m cookin’, but I am feeling pretty great. Can’t argue with that. I just finished my Plantfusion, so its off to yoga it up now.  Have a great weekend, gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

