Mother-In-Law Tested…

Standard

Hopefully Mother-in-law Approved. We shall see.

Found out my MIL is coming for the day tomorrow. We live in the mountains, so although she lives only about 30 miles from here, we rarely have her up for a visit. Many people find the drive daunting, although I am not entirely sure why.

 

I always feel pressure to make everything perfect. The hubs and I have been together for almost 20 years…married for almost 15, and yet I still feel that overwhelming stress when she comes for dinner.

At the same time, I have no desire to break our way of eating to make it more appealing. In the past, I would go “all out”, making things like fried chicken, chicken fried steak, or large pasta dishes. Side dishes were usually from the “comfort” category and rarely good for any of us. That said, she always loves a good meal, so I tend to regress when she joins us.

I have decided that this time, its going to be business as usual, with a familiar twist.

She will be here for lunch and dinner tomorrow and my menu plan is this:

Lunch will be little bits of everything in appetizer fashion.  Cubes of good cheese, slices of apples and oranges, whole grain crackers, some marinated gigantic italian beans I have from the Cheese Shop, Chococado Mousse (an avocado based chocolate pudding with raw whipped cream folded in), and as a “main dish” I will throw a spinach and potato frittata. Iced tea to drink.

Dinner will switch gears a bit. Gonna make Miso Soup with shitake mushrooms and microgreens,  brown rice, sauteed broccoli rabe, and then roast a chicken in the terracotta roaster again to put over the rice and rabe. (Glad those chickens were on sale!)  Hot green tea to drink and perhaps this Vanilla Chia Tapioca Pudding for dessert.

It is more than possible to fix a great meal to please even the harshest of critics without it being full of flour, sugar, and/or packaged products.  Or at least, I believe it is. I will let you know once this test is taken if there is any shred of approval.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Chia & Crabcake Recipe Updates | All This Cake

Leave a Reply

