Hey Good Lookin’! 2/24/13

Standard

Whatcha Got Cookin? I love that song.

So I ate like sh*t yesterday.

We took our oldest to Olive Garden for lunch while his two little sisters were at an event.  He LOVES Italian but we had never taken him there, so off we went.

It was delicious, of course. It was also heavy and full of all kinds of who-knows-what. I didn’t care, until we went to my aunt and uncle’s house and we had *drumroll please* PASTA for dinner! LOL!

And bread.

And cookies.

I was feelin’ it today! I have nothing against pasta at all, but 2 out of 3 meals ran me down a bit.

TODAY IS A NEW DAY.

I slept in until 9:30 this morning. I piddled around, cleaned a bit, did some writing, etc, until I discovered it was 12:30pm and I hadn’t eaten. Well done, right? *eyeroll* …

So nothing to report for breakfast. Kids and hubs had yogurt, toast, and fruit.

Lunch was miso soup, made from this miso. It is THE BEST MISO EVER. I kid you not. I threw in a handfull of baby greens for extra punch. Baby kale, spinach and swiss chard, I believe. Trader Joe’s sells em’ in a bag for $1.99. Not bad at all! 😀 I ate it with a toasted piece of wheat sourdough and a cup of coffee (low acid decaf) with a teensy bit of turbinado sugar and a splash of raw cream.

Had a little yogurt a bit ago…

Dinner is going to be YUMMY.

Whole Foods had Organic, Free Range chickens on sale on Friday for $1.99 per lb. Woot!! I bought three of them. Might eat meat more than once this week at that price. 😉

Gonna season with sea salt, pepper, garlic powder, lemon juice, & onion then  roast the bird in a terracotta chicken roaster. I have a very similar routine as the blogger here. Fresh salsa will be whipped up by blending tomatoes, cilantro, jalapenos, onion, lemon juice and sea salt. Sliced avocadoes and warm corn tortillas will finish it up. I guess its kind of like deconstructed chicken tacos. Chicken taco experience without all the shredding, dicing and slicing. I like it.

Every Sunday is family night, and the kids have requested smoothies and popcorn. I may have to do a post on homemade kettle corn…It’s pretty great. 🙂

Every day is a new day guys. One day of junk is just one day of junk…Try again tomorrow. 

Be good to your cake, and your cake will be good to you. 😉

Leave a Reply

